Hai Phong

The French colonized Haiphong in 1874, converting it from a small market town into a major port. During the war the city was bombed repeatedly. A number of Haiphong's bridges were destroyed and rebuilt – a testament to the perseverance of Haiphong's citizens. Surprisingly, much of the French architecture survived the bombings and the city's centre retains its colonial charm. Notable points of interest include the 17th century Du Hang Pagoda and the Hang Kenh Communal House. Read more...

Hai Phong has a lot of nice landscapes with many historic vestiges and attractions. The famous Do Son Peninsula, Cat Ba Archipelago, Lan Ha Bay, etc. all attract many domestic and foreign visitors.

Places of interest

Although recently restored, the pagoda’s origins date back to the Tran Dynasty (1225-1400). The pagoda has a beautiful Chinese-style garden with several inner courtyards and houses a number of Buddhist relics, including bronze urns, statues of the Buddha, bells, gongs, ancient prayer books and Buddhist scripts.

Hang Kenh Communal House was built in 1856 and expanded in 1905. The communal house is famous for its valuable wooden dragon sculptures and remnants of Imperial Vietnam. The house has over 300 dragons of different shapes and sizes. From the 16th to 18th centuries, the house was used each Lunar New Year for celebrations and as a gathering point for Hai Phong's citizens.